Before deleting your Twitter account, the profile goes into Deactivation mode for 30-days in which a user can choose to reactivate if they wish. After this time, the account is permanently removed. Follow this step-by-step guide if this is what you would like to do:
To reactivate, simply log back in within the 30-day period and confirm that you would like to reactivate your account.
If a loved one dies or is incapacitated, Twitter can assist you in removing the account. This article will show you how to do this.
In the event of the death of a user, Twitter can work with a person authorized to act on behalf of the estate, or with a verified immediate family member of the deceased to have an account deactivated.
As per Twitter’s Guide, you will firstly need to provide documentation that you are an immediate family member or the executor for the profile holder.
Use this form to request to removal of an account. Following the submission, Twitter will respond with further details on how to provide more information. This will include:
Twitter reassures users that this will remain confidential and will be deleted post-review.
If a user is incapacitated, the process is similar. Instead of a death certificate, Twitter requires:
Keep up with our news, articles and latest developments!